State of Play

by

My current State-of-Play:

-Playing in a 4e D&D game (using the H123 module series) that is going to be going to virtual tabletop in the next couple of months. This is going to be my first experience with playing via an online or remote setup (MapTool and Skype or Vent, probably), and I’m very curious to see how it all goes. I imagine that will be some fodder for pieces here. Bryant is DMing that campaign and I’m hoping he’ll write some bits about this as well.

-Running a 4e game (home game, not modules) with 3 players, which poses some interesting technical challenges by being below the recommended 5 player default. This is my second attempt at running 4e and I’m hoping things go better this time. I think I have a better sense of how the game works now and how my own GMing style fits into the assumed structure of the system.

-Hoping to do some playtesting of a very interesting Agon tweak that my John is working up. Hey look, John’s talking about it over here!

-I’m not playing much in the way of video games at the moment. Stopped playing WoW recently, staying up way too late playing PuzzleQuest, hoping to pop in Mass Effect at some point and start on that. I’m a very casual video gamer, as probably evidenced by the fact that I’m talking about getting around to playing two-year-old games.

How about you? Where are you at, game wise? And what do you want to be doing?

3 Responses to “State of Play”

  1. Moth Says:

    “getting around to playing two-year-old games.” That is far newer than the games I have yet to play. On my PS2. 🙂

  2. Theron Says:

    Right now, I’ve just begun a four-week stint of running Hollow Earth Expedition. I’ve also got an ongoing Champions campaign that’s run into a host of scheduling difficulties, which makes it hard to keep my inspiration/interest up.

    I want to be running 4e D&D for my family and another couple with kid we know. But that will have to wait until school’s out.

    I’m also craving an ancient China martial arts fantasy game, but there aren’t any systems out there that sing to me right now.

    Then, there’s Swashbucklers of the Seven Skies, which could totally rock with the right people.

  3. Ivan Says:

    Biweekly game of 4E set in fantasy Atlantean-age Africa. Having the occassional issues to be expected when you break from the standard European setting, but overall working fairly well.

    The indie game has languished for over two months now, after a single session of Dogs. Everyone claims to enjoy it and wants to get back on track, but everyone’s also very busy this time of year and there’s not as many years invested in hanging out as a group.

    Setting up a very limited Lexicon for worldbuilding practice and brushing up on my mapping skills over at the Cartographer’s Guild.

    Am re-examining some old ideas for game design. May actually push them through this time.

    Played paintball for the first time over the weekend. Awesomesauce!

    Videogames – looking forward to Sims 3 but otherwise nothing much.

Leave a Reply

