‘Aces’- yet another ‘Agon’ homebrew

by

So, two funny things happened while I was away on a business trip recently. The first was that whatever momentum I had working on Praxis got blunted, and I had ample time to let a new serial addiction to take root in my brain. The second was that I actually got to meet the Baron von Richthofen, descendant of the WWI ace, the Red Baron.

So, it was only natural for a young man’s fancy to turn to dogfighting.

See, I love Crimson Skies… the genre and setting at least, but not the rules. I *hate* the rules. But I got to thinking… could Agon’s abstract battlemat and combat system be used for a relatively rules light air combat game? I think it can.

As is my usual wont, I designed the character sheet first.

Here’s hoping I can play test this sometime soon. I have lots of cool Crimson Skies heroclix that demand some lovin’.

7 Responses to “‘Aces’- yet another ‘Agon’ homebrew”

  1. Ivan Says:

    I am late to this party, but the minute I saw Primetime Adventures, Crimson Skies sprang to mind. We’re in accord with the whole love the setting, hate the system …

    • John O'Brien Says:

      You know, I still have never read or played Primetime Adventures. I need to rectify that. It sounds like a good, light, and flexible system from what I’ve heard about it from APs from you, Chris, Rob et. al. Sounds like it’d be right up my alley.

      • Christopher Tatro Says:

        hmm, and Brant was bemoaning his lack of game…I may have an idea brewing here. Too early to say anything but let’s call it “Howard Hughes’ MEN OF ACTION”

        • John O'Brien Says:

          You bring PTA for the roleplaying, I bring Aces for the tactical ‘Hell’s Angels’ wargamming… *ding ding* I think we have a winner!

          Dibs on Wild Bill Wellman.

          • Ivan Says:

            And I am left to rot. ROT I SAY!

            • John O'Brien Says:

              In this brave new world of Skype and online playmats, I’m sure we can work something out. Because that would be so awesome to play with you again. You and Nevins et. al. chewing the scenery in my Castle Falkenstein game at GrassoCon remains one of my favorite gaming memories. 😀

  2. John O'Brien Says:

    You bring PTA for the roleplaying, I bring Aces for the tactical ‘Hell’s Angels’ wargamming… *ding ding* I think we have a winner!

    Dibs on Wild Bill Wellman.

Leave a Reply

