Random Blog Links #1: The Dice of Life

by

It is vaguely possible that I might turn 40 at some point next year. Vaguely.

If you are in similar shoes, or if you’re generally trying to balance life with gaming, scope out The Dice of Life. It’s a blog run by some guys who play a lot of games online via MapTool, focused on ways to do that balance thing. There’s good stuff on mundane topics like nutrition, ways to speed up game prep, ways to keep in touch when you’re doing a lot of online gaming — it’s neat.

More links to blogs I don’t think many people have read, but should, will come in the future. If I can find the time.

9 Responses to “Random Blog Links #1: The Dice of Life”

  1. Rob Says:

    I had no idea. I thought I was the old timer in the Ephemeral Circus.

    Thanks for this: I have, um, this friend who is a gamer in his late 30s too. But I think the link is not working: it should go to http://www.thediceoflife.com/

    • Bryant Says:

      A compliment to my youthful demeanor, no doubt. Yeah, I’m the fogey. But hey: early thirties when we met.

      Thanks for catching my typo!

    • Christopher Tatro Says:

      Yeah, for whatever reason I also thought Bryant was a year or two younger than me. I’ll be hitting 39 in January.

      • Moth Says:

        “I’ll be hitting 39 in January.”

        Not that there is anything wrong with that.
        (Says another person in the same boat)

  2. Rob Says:

    This also makes me think of Gameplaywright’s newly announced book The Bones: http://gameplaywright.net/?p=878

    The Bones: Us and Our Dice

    160 pages * $18.95 * ISBN 13: 978-0-9818840-1-1 * ISBN 10: 0-9818840-1-6

    This isn’t about math. It’s about unlucky breaks and victory against all odds.

    This isn’t about percentiles and probabilities. It’s about late-night game-ending rolls where everything hinges on that climactic moment when one single die skitters across the table and determines the fate of a hero, a city, an empire…

    The Bones gathers writing about fandom and family—about gamers, camaraderie, and memories—and ties them together where they meet: our dice. These are essays and anecdotes about the ways dice make us crazy, about the stakes we play for and the thrill we get from not knowing what the next roll will bring.

    Step back and look at how we play with dice.

    Contributors include game designers Mike Selinker, Kenneth Hite, and Keith Baker, writer/actor Wil Wheaton, writers Ray Fawkes and James Lowder. (Subject to change.)

    Edited by Will Hindmarch.

    • Bryant Says:

      I am quite amped for that.

      Have you seen Fantasy Freaks and Gaming Geeks? I have not looked closely enough to know if it’s a heartfelt tribute or a lightly mocking examination. But he’s got the 40-something ex-gamer thing going on.

      • Rob MacD Says:

        Had not seen that. Cool. I’m glad my call for gaming memoir (too lazy to find the 20×20 link) is finally being answered.

        I read another gaming memoir called The Elfish Gene and was split on it. If you’re writing about your own geeky youth, it’s hard to get the mixture of self-mocking to affection right. There were definitely some cute parts and some parts that rang all too true, but I thought the author (of The Elfish Gene, that is) was a bit too eager to dump on his old self. Or maybe he was just British.

  3. Kristian Says:

    Thanks for the short blurb about our blog. We’re really happy that people are getting something out of it. At least we know we’re doing something right. 🙂

    Feel free to drop us a line in the comments or via our Google Group. We’re always interested in knowing what topics you’d like for us to cover.

Leave a Reply

