A Brief but Compelling Review of i4e

by

There’s a new iPhone app, i4e, which allows you to store D&D 4e character sheets on your iPhone. It is probably not worth your time, regrettably. It does not contain any WotC copyrighted content, which is good, but it does not import Character Builder data files, so you have to enter in everything by hand.

Also, no place to put paragon paths and epic destinies. Tsk. And one of the options for target in powers is “Three Chreatures.” And you can’t specify what class a power belongs to, which matters for (say) cleric healing powers. Not polished.

If it could import data files, and if it could retrieve info from the Compendium to fill out power cards, it would become better. Still not as good as iplay4e, though. Those guys are awesome.

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “A Brief but Compelling Review of i4e”

  1. Mike Says:

    Hi Bryant,

    I couldn’t find an email address for you so I’ll just leave a comment here.

    i4e 1.1.0 is now available on iTunes and includes the ability to import a character from a Character Builder .dnd4e file. I’m currently working on the UI so unfortunately paragon path and epic destinies aren’t included yet. I fixed the silly typo on three creatures :).

    I’d love to hear your thoughts on the new version

    Mike

    • Bryant Says:

      I’ll do a new post as soon as I have a chance to check it out! Import from .dnd4e is a big deal. The next big win would be integrating Compendium support — maybe caching data?

      • Mike Says:

        I’m working on a UI rework next, and then I’m hoping to find a way to make it easier to get more of the data into the app.

        I assume what you mean by caching data is to allow you to grab the info from the compendium and then save it in the app. Thats a possibility if I can find a clean way to get the information in the first place. I’m hoping they’ll improve their web services.

  2. Andrew Reutter Says:

    Hi,

    Andrew Reutter from iplay4e.com here.

    “Still not as good as iplay4e, though. Those guys are awesome.”

    *blush* Aw, shucks. Thanks for the compliment.

    Stay tuned! We’ve got some pretty great updates coming soon. This is the Google Group where we announce new features and so on:

    http://groups.google.com/group/iplay4e

    Cheers,
    Andrew

    • Bryant Says:

      Hey, it’s a solid program that works. I built my own Web app to display CB files a couple of months before iplay4e came out, so I know the score of what you’re doing, and I am continually impressed by the polish.

  3. Mike Says:

    Just a FYI i4e 1.2.0 has been released, I updated most everything in the UI and added a bunch of new features.

    It now tracks epic destinies 🙂 and many other items; equipment, class features, racial traits, items, treasure, notes, action points, milestones and magic item uses.

    Take a look, I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised with the changes.

    Mike

Leave a Reply

